Puzzle No. 192 : Nurikabe Loop [Maybe LMI practice puzzle]

The rules of this are the same as the one I quite vaguely called Yajilin-Nurikabe something some posts back. I had no idea this type existed before, and my excuse for this is the re-iteration that I’m still young and inexperienced in the world of puzzles. I first thought that this type was different from that earlier one I did as I thought the islands can’t touch each other diagonally. A whole lot of confusion and a big thanks to Para for test solving and now here we are.

Why am I doing this again? I saw the IB of the upcoming LMI test, the Akil Oyunlari Magazine Contest, featuring unique puzzles from past editions of the magazine. There’s even prizes on offer for the top 3 solvers in this contest, in the form of free issues of the magazine. I liked this type most from all of them(maybe because I’m more familiar to it than the rest of them), so I created one today. I may create others in coming days if I get time/feel like it, but no promises. This is all until I say otherwise. ๐Ÿ˜›

Anyway, Rules, as taken from the IB are –

1.Create some areas, surrounded with cells which are linked to a continuous loop.
2.The numbers in the grid indicate the size of the corresponding white areas.
3.An area cannot contain more than one number.
4.White areas may touch each other only diagonally.

Rated : Another Medium.

Enjoy!

 

5 comments on “Puzzle No. 192 : Nurikabe Loop [Maybe LMI practice puzzle]

  1. Pingback: Puzzle No. 192 : Nurikabe Loop [Maybe LMI practice puzzle] | PS's ... | Japanese puzzles | Scoop.it

  2. After a long time i solved a puzzle from past few weeks it has been all sudoku.
    But this one is nice first i was confused with nurikabe where 2*2 block is not allowed and then read rules again and then searching for how to go about it. This helped me to clear the basics and how the placing of clues helps to give the start for this type of puzzle. nice one ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. It is quite common that a puzzlemaker “creates” a puzzle type without being aware that this type already exists; as far as I know, I am the first to have published a puzzle of this particular type (january 2011), but I may be completely wrong. I later made three other ones for issue 75 of Akil Oyunlari and didn’t see another one until now, except for yours of course. It is always a very particular (and pleasant) feeling to see a puzzle type you made treated by another author – and you treated it very nicely, so keep on this good work!

    • Yes I know that. Thats why I hesitate to call ideas my own, even if I think of them. Its enough to just know that I thought of it and made a good puzzle. Its also nice and interesting to learn the actual origin of puzzles(or known origin anyway). And thank you for the kind words about the puzzle itself. Glad you enjoyed it.

  4. Pingback: Non-Puzzle Post : Why, wordpress? | PS's puzzles +

Leave a comment