Puzzle No. 172 : Tapa [Skyscrapers]

Rules for Tapa.

Additionally, numbers outside the grid show the number of separate wall segments visible in that direction. A segment of length n, is taken as a skyscraper of height n. Skyscrapers of length n can block visibility of other skyscrapers of length n and below.

I’m not overly happy with how this turned out, but I still like the start-up.  Had to change a great ending because of a slight contradiction, and ended up with this. Should be good for a first time variant anyway.

Rated : Easy.

Enjoy!

Puzzle No. 172

 

By Prasanna Seshadri Posted in Easy, Tapa

4 comments on “Puzzle No. 172 : Tapa [Skyscrapers]

  1. Prasanna, this is very lovely puzzle and type 🙂 In last 3 years, some puzzlers tried to combine skyscraper and Tapa, but in my opinion they didn’t do this properly. Now I can clearly say that your idea is perfect approach. After solving your puzzle I wanted to make one, if you don’t mind I want to publish one in my blog tonight 🙂

    • I don’t mind at all 🙂 Thank you for appreciating it. I felt sure the combination was tried before, so I’m glad I was able to get something good out of it. I’d love to see what you can do with this.

  2. Pingback: Tapa [Skyscrapers] |

  3. Pingback: Puzzle No. 264,265 : A Skyscraper Sudoku and a Skyscraper Pentomino | PS's puzzles +

Leave a comment